Free Up Space allows you to save precious disk space on your computer and create more clips. This feature will let Medal automatically delete the local copy of your clips that have already been published. With Free Up Space and Auto uploads, you can configure Medal so that your clips will never take up disk space again.


Nevertheless, you can always download your clips if you want a local copy again. 


Automatically Free Up Space

To Enable or Disable Free Up Space go to Settings > Recorder and scroll down to Publishing


Note: Enabling Free Up Space will delete the local copy of your clip as soon as it is uploaded.


Free Up Space Menu

If you choose not to use the Free Up Space option, you can still reduce the amount of storage your clips are using by opening them in the Free Up Space Menu. 

To open the Free Up Space Menu, click the cloud icon in the upper right of the app.


From here you can view all of the clips in your library that are local (unpublished), untitled, clips taken with ICYMI, and even full session recordings. You can also take actions on your uploaded clips from here.
To free up space, start by selecting local clips (shown in tabs with red numbers). In the Free Up Space menu, you can also mass select clips by clicking select or unselect all.


Once you have selected your clips, you can now choose what to do with them by selecting an action at the bottom of the menu. For example, to free up your disk space, you can delete the clips. If you have the Free Up Space option turned on in Settings > Recorder, your clips will automatically be deleted after uploading them.