Medal contains two trimming methods. One for Full Session Recordings and another for Clips.


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Full Session Recording Trimming

Before opening the trimming window, if you pressed your clip hotkey at anytime while recording a full session, you will see the bookmarks appear on your session. Clicking on the bookmarks here will allow you to quickly skip to your moments of interest.


When you open the trimming window for a Full Session Recording, you will be greeted with this window:


Just like the previous window, you can click on each bookmark to take you straight to your moments of interest. 


Click and hold to drag the white sliders to your desired trimming position


Once you have found the perfect trimming moment, navigate your mouse up to the Create Clip button and click to create a new clip. Alternatively, press Ctrl + Enter to create a new clip.


With full session recording, you can make as many clips are you want from a single session.

Clip length is a maximum of 5 minutes.


Once you have created the clips you want from your session, back out of the trimming menu either by pressing the button or pressing ESC on your keyboard to see your new clips for upload!


Clip Trimming


Like full session recording, you can drag the white sliders to your desired trimming locations


Unlike Full Session Trimming, you cannot create more clips from a single clip and no bookmarks will be added to your trim bar.


Medal supports two trimming scenarios for Clip Trimming:

  • Local Trimming
  • Cloud Trimming

Local Trimming

Local trimming will occur when your clip has not been published to Medal


When trimming a local clip, Medal will create a new local copy of your trimmed clip in your Clips folder and will show that clip instead of the original. You can then upload your trimmed clip.


If you hold the Shift button on your keyboard, you can change the option to Save & Publish.


Once you publish a trimmed local clip, you will no longer have the option to restore the clip to it's original length.

Cloud Trimming

If your clip is published to Medal, you will still have the ability to trim your clips but editing will be done in the cloud.


Clips edited in the cloud will have the ability to be restored to it's original.

Restore Original

Both Published clips and Local Trimmed clips have the option to have their clips restored back to their originals.

There are two ways to restore your clips back to their original:


Clip Library

Right click your clip in your Clip Library to see the option to Restore Original


Trimming Window

Inside the Trimming Window, you can select the Hamburger Menu in the top right to see the option to Restore Original


Trimming Keyboard shortcuts


ShortcutsWhat they do
CTRL + Enter
  • Upload a clip (Unpublished)
  • Share a clip (Published)
  • Create a new clip (Full Session Recording)
CTRL + ZCancel the upload
CTRL + CCopy share link (Published clips only)
CTRL + FFavourite the clip
CTRL + NCreate a new clip (Full Session Recording only)
ESCClose the trim window
+Zoom in the timeline
-Zoom out the timeline
DELETEBring up confirmation dialog to delete clip
LEFT ARROW
Go back 5s in the video
RIGHT ARROWGo forward 5s in the video
CTRL/ALT + Mouse Wheel

Holding CTRL or ALT while scrolling the mouse wheel on the timeline will adjust the zoom level accordingly

Mouse Wheel

Mouse wheel scrolling inside the zoomed in timeline will scroll horizontally based on the zoom level

SHIFT (Hold)Change Save Edits to Save & Publish (Local Trimming only)